In this section

The Antarctic Treaty

The UK was the first of twelve countries to sign the Antarctic Treaty in 1959. The other eleven were: Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Chile, France, Japan, New Zealand, Norway, South Africa, USA and the former Soviet Union.

Cool Clip

Boat trip to dive sites

Rigid Inflatable Boats (or RIBs) are used to travel short distances away from Antarctic research stations, allowing marine scientists to reach dive sites, or to access difficult to reach areas.