In this section

About Discovering Antarctica

The four organisations below are the partners behind this site.

British Antarctic Survey (BAS)

British Antarctic Survey (BAS) is an institute of the Natural Environment Research Council (NERC) Explore this section to learn about our organisation, our funding, our aims, our people, science, history, events, contacts and public information services.

British Antarctic Territory

The British Antarctic Territory (BAT) is a UK Overseas Territory and is administered in London by staff in the Polar Regions Department of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office. The government of the Territory has its own legislative framework and makes a range of legal and administrative appointments.

Foreign & Commonwealth Office

The FCO promotes the United Kingdom’s interests overseas, supporting our citizens and businesses around the globe.

FCO is a ministerial department, supported by 11 agencies and public bodies.


Founded in 1830, the Royal Geographical Society (with IBG) is dedicated to the development and promotion of geographical knowledge, together with its application to the challenges facing society and the environment.

The design and web development was undertaken by Wave.


Please send your comments and queries to: